(archive 'newLISPer)

June 27, 2008

C*mments

Filed under: newLISP — newlisper @ 17:31
Tags:

Not relevant in the archive version.

I’ve managed to cobble together a Comments plugin for this site. It’s still a work in progress, so I don’t expect it to be 100% reliable just yet. If you submit a comment and it doesn’t appear (and you don’t consider yourself to be a spammer), please email me and I’ll investigate!

I was a bit surprised that, after installing the plugin, it took only 25 minutes for the first spammers to arrive and leave their tell-tale pharmacological trail. Google doesn’t bother much with this site, but apparently spammers can immediately find any web page with a comments form – presumably they’re searching the internet for anything with the word “comments” in? Perhaps I should have called it something different.

As it turned out, it wasn’t too bad, because it gave me the chance to test some IP-blacklisting code I put together. This may or may not work, but I needed a bit of genuine spam to test against. I don’t need any more, though. :)

I’m trying out a JavaScript utility called WMD. This lets you format your comments in Markdown and see what the results look like before they’re submitted. Although there’s a development version of Markdown written in newLISP here, I couldn’t use this to generate a live preview in a web page – JavaScript still rules the browser.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

