(archive 'newLISPer)

June 26, 2006

No Longer Pining for the Perfect Programming Language

Filed under: newLISP — newlisper @ 01:01
Tags:

Those days of searching the web’s every nook and cranny for news of a new language are beginning to fade now. PLNews, formerly a constant on this browser, shows up only now and again to tell me of any new newLISP news. No more all-night programming sessions spent converting the code I had converted previously, which I had converted previously, etc., etc., into the new language (usually without success) over and over again. My hard drive is littered with the non-functioning and barely running code of countless languages, all neglected and gathering dust. Till one day, when I’m unable to locate a new new language to be enamored by, I go back into the old code and begin to fondly remember how great this language really was after all.

All just memories now. A tragicomic, recursive exercise in futility, searching for a language that scratches every single itch, and being unable to find the break point. That is, until now:

(define (find-perfect-programming-language)
    ;& prompt for language-name
    ;= exclamation string | (endless loop)
    (catch
        (if (= (prompt-for-user-input) "newLISP")
            (throw "Found it!")
            (find-perfect-programming-language))))
    

m i c h a e l

Legend
;& side effect
;= result

2 Comments »

  1. >Sounds like domestic bliss! ;-)I’d be interested in reading some more about how you compare the different languages, and the problems and pleasures to be experienced when you convert code from one language to another. With all that experience of late-night sessions, one-night stands, or whatever, you should have a fund of knowledge! Whenever I used to write Applescripts, I was forever copying and pasting sort routines of various levels of speed and versatility, since AppleScript can’t sort anything at all, without lots of help.

    Comment by newlisper — June 27, 2006 @ 20:38 | Reply

  2. >Hi newlisper,newlisper said…I’d be interested in reading some more about how you compare the different languages, and the problems and pleasures to be experienced when you convert code from one language to another.Funny that, as Melissa said something very similar when I told her that was the end of the post. In this case, I just wanted to see if I can write something short and to the point ;-)newlisper said…With all that experience of late-night sessions, one-night stands, or whatever, you should have a fund of knowledge!Ah, yes! But as an artist, I’m mostly experienced with channeling that fund into nonverbal forms, like painting, drawing, and music composition. In some ways, writing is just another medium I’m exploring the creative possibilities of. Unfortunately, as I’m just starting out, my work is somewhat handicapped by that fact, and I tend to back away from pieces requiring too much depth. This could be a case of having too much to say, and an underdeveloped capacity with which to say it. Also, about that “one-night stands” part, what kind of a guy do you think I am, anyway? ;-)If I were to try to guess how I could go about recording this experience, it would probably be as a serial, or something to that effect. Right now, though, I can’t even seem to get my stupid Cosmic Wimpout piece together! Let’s hope the name of the piece doesn’t turn out to be prophetic ;-)Just know that these, along with some earlier requests, won’t be forgotten and may one day actually appear! Per one of those requests, I looked at my html context, and it contained all of one function (the one used in the article). Even then, the function is mostly specific to the task at hand and very incomplete. I’m afraid you’d find most of my code toylike and strange. I don’t write programs so much as explore ways of using the language, usually in non-standard ways. newbyLISPers don’t need me giving them any bad habits ;-)I’m doing a side-by-side comparison of your new version of Introduction to newLISP with your last one. I like the additional examples and sections, and the rewording of earlier paragraphs definitely improves the flow of the text. And the planet symbols in chapter 4 are a nice graphical splash of coolness :-)Anyone interested in this latest, greatest newLISP introduction, click here before you forget! (Note: the link is to a pdf file.)m i c h a e l

    Comment by m i c h a e l — June 28, 2006 @ 04:34 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

